Skip to content

Hangul

July 27, 2011

So before starting to learn Korean, I was very intimidated by hangul. To communicate effectively in Korean, not only did I have to learn a whole new language, but I also had to learn a whole new alphabet system as well. I heard people stating how easy hangul is to learn, but I just assumed that these people were the types that could pick up a new language at the drop of a hat. For me, however, this is the first foreign language that I have ever tried to learn. I mean, I took French classes in school, but only because I had to. Korean, however, is something I really want to learn. I can’t explain why.

Anyway, back to the point. It basically is true what they say. Hangul is easy. Mostly. I took some very good lessons over at KoreanWikiProject which taught me very good pronunciation and all of the basics, however it is slightly incomplete. I am still having to get my head around various irregularities, such as pronunciation in batchim (this was only partially covered) and consonant clusters (not covered at all). These are quite simple to learn, but I find that I tend to forget about these when I am reading and pronouncing hangul quite frequently. I also. Hate. Diphthongs.

For reference, I’ve attached a quick-reference pronunciation table from Joop.in which you can download and keep. It doesn’t cover batchim pronunciation or consonant clusters, so I’m going to make a post about these later on when I have my head around them properly.

At least I’m getting pretty good at typing in Korean.

안녕히 계세요!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 27, 2011 1:43 pm

    Thanks for the credits Becky!

Leave a Reply

